16 Comments
Feb 9, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I do a lot of the above, but the thing I’m most excited about recently is the treat box I put together for myself. Remember when you were a kid and your teacher/dentist/doctor/whoever had a box of treats you could pick from? I made an adult version with face masks, free samples from Lush, Starbucks gift card, seasonal candy, etc. When I have a particularly difficult day or I want to treat/reward myself, I get to choose something from the box

Expand full comment
Feb 10, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Wow I'm obsessed with this. I'd like to think it would work for me but I think I'm *too good* at accidentally giving myself treats ALL THE TIME.

Expand full comment
Feb 9, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

This is such a good idea!

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Before I do anything I don't really feel like doing I always tell myself that it's okay if I want to give up or quit. I always give myself an out. Going to the gym, making dinner, doing laundry. Sometimes I just don't feel like it and that's okay.

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Bubble baths! And the dryer warming trick is my favorite, I love to do it with a blanket on cold nights too.

Expand full comment

i would love to do this regularly! wish i didn't have to pay for laundry lol

Expand full comment
Feb 10, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Yin yoga! I love that it gives me permission to be really slow and reminds me that it is ok (and often good) to be slow. I always feel so much less anxious and my muscles feel way more relaxed after all the deep stretching and meditating.

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I get my nails done, I take naps, I buy smoothies, I wear fuzzy socks, I get my nails done, I scream-sing in the car, and I buy myself flowers.

Expand full comment
author

I love all of these!

Expand full comment

Yes! Fuzzy socks are a must.

Expand full comment

There’s a coffee shop by my work that makes the most INSANE chocolate chip cookies. So on days where life just feels HARD...I go get a cookie.

But everyday? I indulge in YT binges and trashy reading. Cause sometimes that hyperactive just needs to do nothing.

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I'm huge on scent to anchor and comfort me. Candles, soap, lotion. I use them day to day as part of caring for myself, but will also use them to ground myself or be mindful when I'm off-kilter for some reason.

Expand full comment
Feb 10, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Blue Apron meal kit delivery. I started when I was struggling a few years ago and thought I would just do it for a few months, but I absolutely love not spending time thinking about what I’m going to cook for dinner.

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

i take naps all the time, when i have an opportunity. i also allow myself to binge whatever my youtube recommends me, even if it means i spend 2 hours watching videos, while snuggled in a blanket on the couch (game grumps is a personal fave).

Expand full comment

I have started shifting my focus from little treats over and over to solving bigger problems (maybe so I can stop worrying about them and enjoy the results). This means that I got my carpet cleaned after grumping about the dots of tar I had accidentally tracked in 8 months ago. I resisted doing it because I thought it was expensive and wouldn’t make a real difference, but it feels like the best kind of boring self care. It also feels good to do low cost or free things like make sure my address spreadsheet is updated after Christmas card season, basically anything that would annoy me if it wasn’t done, and brings me joy when it is.

Expand full comment

Dark baths! I use bubble bath, light a candle and some incense, put on a chill playlist, and turn off the lights. It’s a vibe and I love it. Something about taking time in this aesthetic always leaves me so inspired artistically.

Expand full comment