6 Comments
author

I'll start: Dr. Ghazaleh Moayedi is an incredible OB/GYN and abortion provider here in Texas. I learn new things from her all the time!

Here's her linktree with her published pieces/podcasts/etc:

https://linktr.ee/drghazal?fbclid=PAAaZHOEk_pm0_Ju9Q9xijdn_RAgFKam2ETCeYeoYCItxT6NE7V68T6-jbB_U

Expand full comment

I have so many wonderful women friends, but at the moment I have great reverence for my friend Ashley. She's a beautiful soul with the biggest laugh and an incredible talent for painting. She recently gifted me a piece of hers and I am anxiously awaiting it to be done at the framers! Ashley teaches me empathy, self-love, and friendship on a whole new plain and I love her so dearly.

You can (and should) check out her work here: https://www.oil-ash.com/ !!

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2023·edited Mar 8, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

As a historian, I always go to Ella Baker when people ask me about a woman they should know about! Ella Baker worked tirelessly for Civil and Human Rights. She worked with all sorts of people. She was one of those leaders who inspired and organized people, but didn't grab the spotlight. If you want to learn more about her -- check out the Ella Baker for Human Rights website: https://ellabakercenter.org/who-was-ella-baker/ or better yet check out this biography: Barbara Ransby, Ella Baker and the Black Freedom Movement: A Radical Democratic Vision (The University of North Carolina Press, 2003). Enjoy!

Expand full comment

Khara Jabola-Carolus! She had a mini-viral-moment early in the pandemic when her email signature rang true for a lot of women:

'Aloha, due to patriarchy I am behind in emails. I hope to respond to your message soon but, like many women, I am working full-time while tending to an infant and toddler full-time. According to the Washington Post, the acerage length of an uninterrupted stretch of work time for parents during COVID-19 was three minutes, 24 seconds.'

a small bio on her, because somehow she doesn't have a wikipedia page?: https://www.worldwithoutexploitation.org/bios/khara-jabola-carolus

Expand full comment

The current president of the Canadian Labour Congress, Bea Bruske. A fierce negotiator, authentic and engaging communicator. Prior to being elected, she negotiated for my workplace, she's got this gift of advocated for members but also considering how to push for broader legislative changes that will support people who don't benefit from union representation!

Expand full comment