106 Comments
author

I'm currently reading The House in the Cerulean Sea (thank you for the rec!) and am loving it.

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I’m currently on “Braiding Sweetgrass” by Robin Wall Kimmerer, about the intersection of Indigenous ways of knowing with western science in the botany world -- it’s just gorgeous. A recent fave was “Wintering” by Katherine May, about the “winters” of our lives, and how to embrace those darker moments and emerge renewed in the spring.

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I’m reading Ghosts in the Schoolyard by Eve Ewing, about racism and school closures in Chicago’s Southside. It’s really good but I have to do small sessions because it makes me emotional 😤

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I'm reading the Ex-Hex, so fair it's a fun rom com. I also recently read Circe which is the retelling of a Greek myth. I had never heard the myth so it was all new to me!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I just finished reading “The invisible life of Addie LaRue” it was it one of the most incredible books I’ve ever read. 10/10. There is supposed to be a movie adaptation in the coming future but not sure when!! I hope someone feels inspired to read it!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I really enjoyed reading Black Cake by Charmaine Wilkerson. A book about loss, pride, family secrets and how food (specifically black cake) connects and overcomes it all. I’m currently reading, Convenience Store Woman.

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I’m a high school English teacher and happy to recommend if anyone is looking for something to read ❤️

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

This year I'm trying to read more nonfiction books about art and about nature. Any recommendations on that front would be lovely.

So far I have enjoyed "The Hidden Lives of Owls" and am working on a book by glass artist Paul Stankard about his process and thoughts around art.

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Adding on to Braiding Sweetgrass (which is such an incredible read), I just finished The Sentence by Louise Erdrich. It gives some native history about the Minneapolis, MN area and tells a really charming story about a ghost that haunts a bookstore in the city. Bonus points because the bookstore is real, owned by Erdrich, and exactly as described! Visiting it was such a huge treat. I also loved Exit West by Mohsin Hamid -- if you like magical realism you'll love both of these books!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Love Songs of W.E.B. DuBois, very good!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

If anyone doesn’t know there are FREE audio and written books on the Libby or Overdrive app that you log into though your library. It’s excellent I use constantly

Expand full comment

Just finished the Bookish Life of Nina Hill. I’m on my fluffy, mind candy book phase. Nothing super substantial, just fun fiction. 😊

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Just read Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison. Now Sula by her. Anything by Toni Morrison is brilliant work.

Expand full comment

Mid-way through _Sea of Tranquility_ and it's excellent! An original story with compelling stories that feels very tightly written. I now need to read her other books!

Expand full comment

I highly recommend the book Lost and Found by Kathryn Schulz. It's a beautiful collection of creative non-fiction short essays.

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

The Telling Room by Michael Paterniti- I'm reading this for book club. It is a wild nonfictional story (with excessive footnotes, be prepared to use your brain!)

The Holiday Trap by Roan Parrish- a light, fun, updated, non-cis/het take on the romance novel

Goodbye to All That edited by Sari Botton- a devastating series of essays about leaving New York, but really about leaving behind your twenties and reckoning with the hopes/dreams that you carry

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I'm reading Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell -- it's very good. An imagined retelling of Shakespeare's wife and family.

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Rereading Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir (lesbian necromancers in space!) and just finished Accidental Saints by Nadia Bolz-Weber which was a quick, thoughtful read on faith, hope, and compassion.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

If anyone could recommend a book to me that would make me feel passionate about reading again, I would really appreciate it! I have always been an avid reader but I've found it really hard to focus my attention on books in the last couple of years. I'm a big fantasy/sci-fi nerd, I'm not big on romance in novels unless it's very nuanced and progresses slowly and organically (Pride and Prejudice, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, Jane Eyre are my favourite classic novels and I adore the way they develop characters).

Sara Douglass is my favourite author ever. I would HIGHLY recommend her Axis trilogy and Wayfarer Redemption series', they absolutely changed the way I thought about myself and the world around me. She's an Australian author who unfortunately passed away in 2011. I have a signed bookmark from her that I will treasure forever.

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Currently starting Hell Bent, by Leigh Bardugo! Im a fan of dark fantasies, though I wasn't a huge fan of Ninth House honestly. I want to read Babel by R F Kuang next!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

In the summer I read "Nothing to See Here" by Kevin Wilson. It's about these twin kids that spontaneously combust when they start feeling heightened emotion! It's a lil heartbreaking and very heartwarming and quick to read, it was so enjoyable. I recommend!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

emergent strategy by adrienne maree brown!!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I’m re-reading the Lord of The Rings trilogy with a nephew and a friend’s kid. A lil book club! I haven’t read them since I was a teenager, so it’s been pretty special to introduce it to them.

Other recent books I’ve liked: The Newlyweds by Mansi Choksi; Bad Vibes Only by Nora McInerny; Start Here, Start Now by Liz Kleinrock. And all guests on my pod!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I just finished A Psalm for the Wild Built by Becky Chambers. It’s sci-fi, nice and short, and is the warmest hug of a book! I just started Her Majesty’s Royal Coven by Juno Dawson and it’s very fun so far!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I just finished A Children’s Bible. A very quick, exciting, and thought provoking read!

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I recently finished "Her Body and Other Parties," which is an amazing collection of short stories.

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Cannot recommend Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari enough!

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I recently finished listening to the audio book (slowed to (0.9x speed ... made the narration more pleasant IMO) of The Night Circus, and really enjoyed it!

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

im currently reading The Book of Night by Holly Black!

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

My goal this year is to read, quote, most lesbian romances. Taking a break for Leigh Bardugo's Hell Bent, then back in the thick of it 😉

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Currently, I’m reading Other Terrors! It’s a diverse anthology that explores different short stories that explore the meaning of “otherness” from the perspective of those who are normally considered other (BIPOC, LGBTQ+, differently abled authors)

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

currently listening to Greedy: Notes from a Bisexual Who Wants Too Much by jen winston on audible! i find myself listening to her and being like yes! exactly that! how are u in my brain?! lol

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Also looking for recommendations for rom coms and romance. I just realized I liked romance and need recommendations! Looking for light and fun reading--thanks!!

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Currently reading Babel, but would love book recs for great memoirs!

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I live for "Beyond Beautiful" by Anuschka Rees. It talks about how the beauty industry invents flaws so they can sell you "cures". It changed my perception of how self worth is formed and made me ask myself why I never liked my looks (except for that one time I was a size 4 and literally didn't eat).

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

I also just finished reading "Moon of the Crusted Snow" by Waubgeshig Rice. I was looking for something with wintery/snowy vibes. It's written by a Canadian First Nations author. It was great! About a community living on a reservation when suddenly their satellite, power, etc go out and it starts blizzarding; apocalypse vibes, but I didn't find it strenuous on my mental health or anything. Very quick to read, I read it in 3 sittings. There were some nights during the week where I knew I couldn't start reading in the evening or else I would never go to bed!

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

So far this year I’ve read This is how it always is, I know this much is true, americanah and I’m currently reading the book theif. All are really good.

I want to read:

Really good, Actually

River Sing Me Home

Atomic Habits

Traumata

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

For Non-fic I recommend Motherhood by Shelia Heti and Hatching by Jenni Quilter both are about deciding or deciding not to be a mother

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Just finished People Person by Candice Carty-Williams, and am about to start Crying in H Mart

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

Midnight Rising by Tony Horwitz about John Brown's raid on Harper's Ferry, WV. I'm mostly a non-fiction girl.

Expand full comment
Jan 18, 2023Liked by Becca Rea-Tucker

My favorite book of 2022 was "Great Circle" by Maggie Shipstead. I've been recommending it to everyone! Other recent favorites have been: anything by Emily St. John Mandel and Ruth Ozeki, "Nightcrawling" by Leila Mottley, and "Olgla Dies Dreaming" by Xochitl Gonzalez.

Expand full comment

My favs from last year were The Midnight Library by Matt Haig, True Biz by Sara Nović, and Finding Freedom: A Cook’s Story; Remaking Life From Scratch.

Midnight Library was just lovely, I love Matt Haig’s writing style. And I also believe in many different universes and also reincarnation which were themes in this book so it was just truly such a wonderful read.

I learned SO much from True Biz!! Super interesting to read all the different perspectives of characters with different types of deafness and how they each take in the world around them. Loved the breaks woven throughout that showed you how to sign different words. Truly fascinating!

Finding Freedom was nostalgic and heartwarming and tough. I don’t normally read memoirs but I read this and Crying in H Mart recently and just loved them. I loved all the imagery Erin set up in her writing. She vividly described her cooking and plating and restaurants.

If anyone wants to be good reads friends my name is the same on there!!

Expand full comment